h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 29 Prompt for Tuesday, April 29, 2014 Posted April 28, 2014

April 28, 2014

“Break a vase, and the love that reassembles the fragments is stronger than that love which took its symmetry for granted when it was whole.”
Derek Walcott

Welcome to Day 29 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. The finish line is just ahead….just a couple of poems to go for our 2014 challenge. And if you’ve paid a little more attention to poetry during our month long sharing of prompts and writing —thank you… I know good things will come of it.

Below the next prompt/challenge you’ll find what I wrote for Day 27.

THE PROMPT for Tuesday, April 29th, 2014

Prompt 29 – Write a poem (tragic of comedic in tone) inspired by a Home Remodel .

Write a poem that is about a home remodel. It can be comedic or tragic, wholly fiction or partially from an experience you might have in remodeling a bathroom, kitchen or entire house. You can write it any style and decide if it should rhyme or not as you the muse dictates. Have fun.

Here’s what I wrote for Prompt 28

Prompt 28 suggested you Translate and create a poem from a text or poem in another language that you do not know. (In other words… make up what you want from what you think it might mean).

Strengthen my Soul
By Christopher J. Jarmick

My misery is infinite. I pray
my human heart be freed
from my savage male turmoil.

What course has this journey taken?
Do I know what path I am
or what betrayal lies ahead?

Give me the strength to know
truth, the humility to serve,
the sense to ask for directions.

I’m sure only that ignorance is misery’s co-conspirator
tricking me to stumble
and then be defenseless to temptation.

Open me to my true soul
so it guides me through troubled times
trusts me to have the keys I need

to unlock the mysteries of pure love.

I used the Italian Poem below as the text for my translation.

I do not read or speak Italian at all and have had little contact
with it (mostly from Italian movies) so I could only make guesses
at what any of the words meant which even if I almost figured out what one or two words meant, in context their meanings I suspect were completely different. I suspected it’s subject had something to with the SOUL, but then simply used my impression of what a word might mean here and there to guide the lines of my poem. As I finished, I went back and re-vised and slightly edited what I wrote.

All’anima mia
By Umberto Saba (1883-1957)

Dell’inesausta tua miseria godi.
Tanto ti valga, anima mia, sapere;
sì che il tuo male, null’altro, ti giovi.

O forse avventurato è chi s’inganna?
né a se stesso scoprirsi ha in suo potere,
né mai la sua sentenza lo condanna?

Magnanima sei pure, anima nostra;
ma per quali non tuoi casi t’esalti,
sì che un bacio mentito indi ti prostra.

A me la mia miseria è un chiaro giorno
d’estate, quand’ogni aspetto dagli alti
luoghi discopro in ogni suo contomo.

Nulla m’è occulto; tutto è sì vicino
dove l’occhio o il pensiero mi conduce.
Triste ma sollegiato è il mio cammino;

And about fifteen minutes ago, I put the lines into a google translator which gave me this

My Soul

Dell’inesausta enjoy your misery. worth Especially you, my soul, you know, so that your wrong, nothing else, do you good. ventured Or maybe who is deceived? nor to discover himself has in his power, nor ever his judgment condemns him? Magnanimous you’re also, our soul but for which no cases your t’esalti, so that a kiss then you lied prostrate. To me my misery is a clear day in summer, quand’ogni appearance by high places’ll reveal in every contomo. Nothing is hidden from me; everything is so near the eye or thought leads me. sollegiato Sad but it is my journey, and everything in it, until the shadow is light.

I then found the poem at another website which included an English Translation of the poem that I believe was done by Mike Trowler and is located here. 

Interesting and fun to compare I thought.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here:

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

One comment

  1. Great job on this poem, Chris, and great job all month long with thoughtful assignments.

    Favorite lines: “Open me to my true soul / so it guides me through troubled times / trusts me to have the keys I need // to unlock the mysteries of pure love.”



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,135 other followers

