h1

POETRY IS EVERYTHING

April 7, 2010

I thought, I should probably look at other 1st blog posts avoid some grievous first timer mistakes and emulate the ones I like best.  I might start by introducing who I am, because it’s always so very interesting to read what someone you don’t know wrote about themselves, isn’t it?

Then I thought… no.  Walk the path as if you didn’t know many, many have come before.  Don’t learn from the mistakes of others, make your own, do it without a net.  You’re American, you’re bold, brash, very foolish and quite full of yourself too.   So I’ll look at strangers’ blogs and find their awkward first posts later today (if they’ve left them up) and scramble to redeem this pitiful first blog post at a future date.

Still reading?   Wondering if  I will offer something interesting, helpful, educational… (oops.. that’s a dull, killjoy word– I take it back).

Are you writing a poem a day for NaPoWriMo  or doing 3.3. pages of a script for Script Frenzy?

Have you recently published a book and decided it was time to start a blog, connect to more people in a different way that you do at places like Facebook, or other rather insular writing communities?

Interest in hearing yet another voice blogging about his or her adventures in life, writing, narcisim?

You probably want something more focused then that, that is useful, funny or at least informative and not so slapdash right?

I curate and host 2 poetry readings a month in the Seattle Area, and I send out an email about mostly free poetry and prose readings that happen in the Seattle/Tacoma/Bellevue/Everett areas.   At the end of my emails  I write:

POETRY IS EVERYTHING

After a couple of years of doing this, several times a month to 400 or 500 recipients, a few people asked me about.  A few said something like, ‘Hey, what is that?  What do you mean, Poetry is Everything?   That’s not true.  Poetry is certainly not everything.”     One guy (Tomas) was truly bugged by my Poetry is Everything sign off.   I tried to explain the root of the word Poetry. . .and he began to understand a little better what I meant and how I could somewhat outrageously declare:  POETY IS EVERYTHING.

So. . .  you too should know.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek   ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

POETRY IS EVERYTHING =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

