h1

NaPoWriMo April 12, 2010 includes writing prompt & challenge

April 12, 2010

Hey. . . .I’m even OLDER today. Write something today, not because it’s my birthday , but because, expressing yourself creatively is one of the most precious gifts you have—and it is meant to be shared. Break the self-imposed chains that make you
doubt you are able to write something worth posting today.

Sure I came up with a fun writing prompt and challenge for you to try out if you would like.. and you’ll find that these get posted every evening between 9 and 10 p.m. on the Dash 30 NaPowrimo site (google it).
You also find good challenging prompts from members of the Read-Write
site.

POEM STARTER NaPoWriMo 12, 2010

by Christopher J. Jarmick

Three movie quotes

walk into a bar,

First one says:

Pain don’t hurt.

Second one says:

Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here,

this is the war room.

Third one says:

Shut the fuck up, Donny.

(Roadhouse, Dr. Strangelove and Big Lebowski)

SEPTOLET for April 12, 2010

Princess Bride;

makes men miserable

dowry,

small heart

Jerry Maguire;

all talk,

says hello.

Here’s your prompt for Monday, April 12, 2010

Do you feel lucky punk? Well.. do ya?

What a wonderful day this April 12th is, huh? Let’s go to the movies today.

Use 2 to 4 movie quotes in the poem you write today. Your poem can be about anything you would like. Love, Nature, Movies, Politics, Religion… you are a poet, you are fearless. The quotes can be favorites
or ones you look up and decide to play with.
You can go to IMDB.COM, look up a movie you like and often there will be
a box on the left hand side that includes a link to quotes from that
movie. You can try googling the movie
and see if quotes will come up for it.
Use the quotes in a completely different way in the body of a poem then
how they are used in the movie. You can
even change the tense or gender of a word if need be. Make sure you use at least two quotes. Each quote can consist of a couple of lines
of dialogue or a single line.. up to you.
Tell us in a post poem note where the quotes come from. “ Here’s looking at you, kid. “

FOR MY MOVIE QUOTE POEM, I used several Groucho Marx lines from Animal Crackers, Horse Feathers, Duck Soup and Night at the Opera , including the song lyrics of Eveyong

Everyone Says I Love Marx Brothers Movies,

By Christopher J. Jarmick

The man with the painted moustache

eyebrows,

cheap cigar

(and they’ll be no diving for this cigar)

Let it be known in no uncertain terms

that he shot an elephant in his pajamas,

how he got into the pajamas

we’ll never know,

But he took pictures of the natives

they weren’t developed yet

So he’ll be going back in a couple of

Years.

Hurray for Grouch Marx,

I mean Captain Spaulding

for Animal Crackers,

Duck Soup, Horse Feathers,

Night at the Opera and more.

Now on the occasion of my birthday

this April 12,

it is generally known, I think it’s about time to announce

that I was born at a very early age.

And that reminds me of a story that’s so dirty

I’m ashamed to think of it myself

So let’s go over some of the rules shall we.

Actually on second thought,

I don’t know what they have to say.
It makes no difference anyway.
Whatever it is, I’m against it.

If any form of pleasure is exhibited,

report to me and it will be prohibited!

I’ll put my foot down, so shall it be…

this is the land of the free!

The last man nearly ruined this place he didn’t know what to do with it.

If you think this country’s bad off now, just wait till I get through with it!

The country’s taxes must be fixed, and I know what to do with it.

If you think you’re paying too much now, just wait till I get through with it!

Everyone says I love you

The cop on the corner

And the burglar too

The preacher in the pulpit

And the man in the pew

Says I love you.

Everyone says I love you

The man with the pizza

And the cable guy too

The pusher and the junkie,

And the homeless bum too

Says I love you

Everyone no matter who

The folks over 80

And the kids of two

The captains and the sailors

And the rest of the crew

Says I love you

There are only 8 little letters in this phrase

You’ll find

But they mean a lot more than all the other words

Combined.

Everywhere the whole world through

The kings in the palace

And the peasants too

The tiger in the jungle

And the monk in the zoo

Says I love you

There’s a lot more of this, and if I were you

I’d wait in the lobby until we are through.

I have to stay here and keep writing,

But there is no reason why you have to.

I’d horsewhip you, if I had a horse.

Why don’t you bore a hole in yourself

and let the sap run out?

Another bad pun or two

And I’m going to pout.

You’ve got the brain of a four-year-old boy,

and I bet he was glad to get rid of it.

We now find ourselves among the Alps.

the Alps are a very simple people living on a diet

of rice and old shoes.

Beyond the Alps lies more Alps and the Lord Alps those that Alps themselves.

We then come to the bloodstream.

The blood rushes from the head down to the feet,

gets a look at those feet, and rushes back to the head again.

Now in studying your basic metabolism,

we first listen to your heart beat.

And if your hearts beat anything but diamonds and clubs,

it’s because your partner is cheating – or your wife…

Ah, but let bygones be bygones

And there goes one now.

Now where was I?

Everyone says I love you
But just what they say it for I never knew
It’s just inviting trouble for the poor sucker who
says I love you.

Take a pair of rabbits who
Get stuck on each other and begin to woo
And pretty soon you’ll find a million more rabbits who
Say I love you

When the lion gets feeling frisky
And begins to roar
There’s another lion who knows just what he’s roaring for

Everything that ever grew
the goose and the gander and the gosling too
The duck upon the water when he feels that way too
says

I love you.

Anything further father?

That can’t be right

isn’t it ‘Anything Father, further?’


The idea!

I married your mother because I wanted children.

Imagine my disappointment when you arrived.

Remember no one knows anything

And

Whatever it is

I’m against it.

HAIL FREEDONIA !!!

Read Write member Carolee Sherwood’s prompt for Day 12 is as follows:.

Make up a secret code. Begin by writing a few nonsense sentences, like “The raindrops tap out a cry for help” or “The dandelions are saying all at once, ‘You are overwhelmed.’” The formula is easy: come up with a message and assign
it to something unlikely. Remember, of course, that inanimate objects can speak
and that signs and symbols may be nonverbal.

Once you have a few sentences, select the one that is most intriguing to you and use it to start a poem.

Didn’t actually follow this prompt today, but one of the Marx Brothers’ and Groucho quotes above is certainly full of nonsense!!!!
Keep writing.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or
‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

