h1

NaPoWriMo April 13, 2010 including writing prompt and challenges

April 13, 2010

It’s almost overwhelming trying to participate every day in writing several poems, coming up with my own writing prompts to post at the Dash 30 site  AND participate in Script Frenzy with a goal of writing 100 pages by the end of April  AND living the rest of my life.
Right now I’m off to find some BAAAAAD poems  that I’ll put together and print out so people can read them at Friday’s poetry reading at Bookworm Exchange in Seattle.    I host  2 poetry readings this week… Wednesday at Park Place books in Kirkland Washington where I get to welcome Lyn Coffin and Dennis Caswell along with an open mic.. and then I have a reading on Friday in Seattle at Bookworm Exchange hosting Leonard Orr and David Thornbrugh.

I’m also torn between which of 3  poetry readings I’ll be attending on Thursday.   The one’s in Everett and Edmonds are a little tough for me to get to.. so I’ll probably wind up at the one in Redmond at Soul Food books.  All have wonderful poets and people I know.

Here’s the poems I wrote for today.  Prompts and challenges are at the end.

Write something today…..
POEM STARTER NaPoWriMo 13, 2010
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Smiling now.
She called on the phone,
asked me a couple questions,
then called back, gave me a number
to call, tomorrow.
She forgot it was my
Birthday.

SEPTOLET for April 13, 2010

Narrow staircase
Dusty light
Hidden room
Featured closet

French postcards
Violin case
Conspiracy theory

Here’s two poems from two prompts. First from the today’s Read-Write
prompt (see below)

Poem starting with the first line from Norman Dubie’s February: the Boy Breughel
By
Christopher J. Jarmick

The birches stand in their beggars row
encircling the wetlands
waiting to be counted in the census,
or to be told where the food bank has
moved to.

They have narrowly escaped becoming
a parking lot,
again.

The cries of lone gull, angrily demanding
a response after being blown off course
and stubbornly flying inland for several miles.
(I figure it must be a Male, refusing
to stop for directions)

We look up to catch glimpse of lost bird
immediately feeling a connection as we too
are lost; looking for an address that apparently doesn’t exist
in a city planners sick joke where streets have names like
130 N.E., and N.E. 130 St. and 130th Ave. N.E., two of which
come together at one point.

I want to shout, louder than sea gull cry
And then wonder if getting to our destination
would ruin everything,
make this day, as ordinary as the one before,
and
others, we barely remember at all.

Here’s the poem I wrote off MY PROMPT for today.

Extraordinary Postcards

By Christopher J. Jarmick.

1.
I enjoyed the day,
a walk to the other side of town
through the park,
delicious appetizers, hand- made chocolates,
a good movie. It wasn’t an exotic,
take your breath away, never to be repeated
experience. Just nearly perfect.

2.
Thinking of you
as I walk along this famous street,
down the path into Central Park,
eating a piece of pizza I know you crave.
Later I’ll get a fresh little Italy pastry
see a comedian at a Village club.
it’s too noisy, crowded, expensive,
but I love it as you know. Enjoy.

My Prompt for Today:
Here’s the NaPoWriMo writing prompt I came up with for Tuesday, April
13, 2010.

Ever hear the quote: “if you want to send a message, call Western
Union?” It’s credited to movie mogul Sam Goldwyn and he was talking
about movies which he though should deliver entertainment without
political or social messages.

We’ll change the quote a little for today.. to “ …if you want to send a
message, use a post-card”
Yes, I know that’s old school of course…haven’t I ever heard of text
messaging? But bear with an aging dinosaur for a moment.

Today’s challenge is in 2 parts.

Part 1:
First write a 6 to 12 line Post Card poem to a lost friend or relative.
Short, conversational. Something you might actually see on a
post-card with a poetic twist to it and beyond: wish you were near; wish
you were here.

Part 2:
Second Part:
Write a second Post Cart Poem 6 to 12 lines long, that is a reply to the
first part.
You can title it Post Card Poems 1 & 2 ; You Got Mail (sorry) or
anything you would like it’s your poem.

AND

The prompt from Read Write member Sarah J. Sloat is to use a line
written by poet Norman Dubie to starte off your poem. She challenges:
In his poems, Norman Dubie tells stories, sets scenes and paints
landscape, sometimes lush and sometimes wretched. His writing is sure
and vivid, and his language is beautiful. As you’ll see below, his
similes are incomparable. If forced to compare him with anyone, I’d be
more likely to pick a painter than another writer.

For this prompt, take a Dubie line to jumpstart a poem of your own. Your
poem should be titled “Poem Starting with a Line from Norman Dubie.”
I offer a menu of possible first lines below:

1. The lights of the galaxies are strung out over a dipper of gin.
2. His chapel fell into flowers long ago.
3. A kiss is like a dress falling off a tall building.
4. Two houseflies are like two fiddles drying.
5. My favorite pastime has become the imaginary destruction of flowers.
6. In triplicate, he’s sent an application, listing grievances, to the
stars.
7. You wondered about skin wrinkled by looking at jewels.
8. Her breasts filled the windows like a mouth.
9. In the near field an idle, stylish horse raised one leg.
10. Worlds are being told like beads.
11. The pearl slapdash of the moon is on the water.

Be sure to use the title suggested and credit Norman Dubie in your post

Leave a Reply

