h1

NaPoWriMo 2011 Poems and Prompts for April 4, 2011 4/30

April 4, 2011

It’s NaPoWriMo Day 4 We’re writing a poem every day for 30 days to celebrate National Poetry Month and to challenge ourselves to be creative and just have fun achieving this goal.    You don’t have to follow a prompt or create a prompt, but that can add to the challenge.

Today’s prompt is to write about a bird in a unique way.

Today’s FORM challenge is to do a palinode or palinody which is an ode in which the writer retracts a view or sentiment expressed in an earlier poem.  (See below for more on this)

Happy writing

Blue Coffee Can With apologies to William Carlos Williams

It wasn’t a red wheelbarrow but a coffee can

Dry

And I ate the white chicken

with peas; green

No Bird came down the walk With apologies to Emily Dickinson

No bird came down the walk

I could not see outside

It was night, there was no moon

My shades were drawn, I simply lied

I like the phrase of drinking dew

From the convenient grass

But I saw no bird hop sideways

To let a beetle pass

I stayed shut up in my room

Offering no bird, no crumb

Imagining pretty fluttering butterflies

So my life would be less numb.

© 2011  Chris Jarmick

BY   Teresa    Wreck Within with Apologies to Robert Louis Stevenson

Under the narrow star-eyed sky

Open the doors and let me fly

Sadly did I live and almost die

But I slapped my face with will

This be the rhyme you scribe for me

There she flies, where she longed to be

Away from death, home by the sea

And left the hunter’s knife still.

© 2011  Teresa  Jarmick

A palinode or palinody is an ode in which the writer retracts a view or sentiment expressed in an earlier poem. The first recorded use of a palinode is in a poem by Stesichorus in the 7th century BC. Here he retracts his earlier statement that the Trojan War was all the fault of Helen.

The word comes from the Greek παλιν (“palin”, meaning ‘again’) and ωδη (“song”); the Latin equivalent “recantation” is an exact calque (“re-” meaning ‘again’ and “cant-” meaning ‘sing’).

It can also be a recantation of a defamatory statement in Scots Law.

[edit] Examples

Chaucer’s Retraction is one example of a palinode.

Late in his life, Gelett Burgess wrote this of his famous “Purple Cow”:

Ah, yes! I wrote the purple cow,

I’m sorry now I wrote it!

But I can tell you anyhow,

I’ll kill you if you quote it!

Remember you can start writing a poem a day  today.  You don’t have to catch up… you just begin and do it the rest of the month (or you can do a few extra if you like too).

You can use this prompt for tomorrow’s poem too if you like.

Poetry is Everything.

© 2011

2 comments

  1. I love it. I’ve been writing a poem a day for national poetry month, sometimes even 2. I’ve just been so inspired!
    check out my site!


  2. I love poetry and I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to stop by sometime.

    Raining Purple Rain



Leave a Reply

