h1

NaPoWriMo 2011 Poems & Prompt for April 28, 2011 28/30

April 28, 2011

April 28th

Put 3 on the countdown clock….  NaPoWrimo is almost over.   Poetry is part of your life every day.  It’s there in what people say, it’s there in a song you hear on the radio, or one you remember, in a nursery rhyme, in how you might think to describe something to someone.   And you might even read or listen to poetry on a regular basis or see it in a newspaper or magazine or stumble upon it like right here.

So today we create a conversation between two or more people and Manipulate it into a poem.  You might do it with a few lines from a movie if you like, you might do it from a book, better yet, make it all up.  It  doesn’t have to rhyme or have a definite meter but the conversation should feel ‘poetic’.  You can define what that is and what it looks like for you.

Simultaneous Conversation  

  By Chris & Teresa Jarmick

Honey, Do you hear me?

(Do you hear me now?)

 

Buckle up, we’re late.

(Button up your overcoat.)

 

I’m nervous about this.

(Nervous about my own shadow.)

 

The new CD or the radio?

(What no IPOD, Streaming movie?)

 

I can’t hear over the noise in my head.

(We’re emitting radiation.)

 

I thought that buzzing was from the fluorescent lights.

(Contact high from the mercury in those parking lot lights, no doubt)

 

I’m not sure you should be driving.

(Avis tries harder.)

 

Maybe you should have stayed at home.

(At that little place on the prairie.)

 

Maybe you should take me home.

(country road, take me home…)

 

People will wonder what happened to us.

(or not miss us at all)

 

I’m afraid of spiders.

(and snakes . . .)

 

I’m afraid of most politicians

(and they aren’t even necessary.)

 

Goodnight moon.

(or Mrs. Callabash)

 

Goodnight Gracie.

© 2011

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Opossum

by Chris & Teresa Jarmick

“There’s something happening here.”

“I can’t smell it.”

“Oh aren’t you funny.”

“Maybe I can touch it.”

“Maybe I won’t let you.”

“Get your mind out of the gutter.”

“It wasn’t quite there yet.”

“Too bad for you.”

“It’s bad for both of us.”

“I don’t know what to say now.”

“I need you to say something.”

“That’s not what you said last night.”

“I don’t remember much about last night.”

“Is that your final answer?”

“I thought you said you didn’t know what to say.”

Keep writing

Poetry is Everything

2 comments

  1. Excellent post! I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Poetry will never loose it’s touch even as we enter this digital age. Thanks for sharing.

    A Poem for Mothers


    • Thanks for engaging with this poem the old fashioned way…by reading it. You comment appreciated. Keep writing.



Leave a Reply

