h1

NapoWriMo April 8, 2012 Day 8/30

April 7, 2012

Sunday, April 8th, 2012 NaPoWriMo Day 8

A speech is poetry: cadence, rhythm, imagery, sweep! A speech reminds us that words, like children, have the power to make dance the dullest beanbag of a heart.– Peggy Noonan

It’s been a week of writing a poem a day!!! How are you doing? Keep doing it… keep trying. Do NOT give up.

Today’s Prompt:

1. Write a poem today that consists of a conversation between two people–using dialogue. Make it at least 8 lines long.
2. Extra challenge Try my invented form that I call the BUSTER.
What’s that?
The Buster is a loose form. It uses conversational dialogue. Each line changes speakers.

Line 1. The first line is very short 2 to5 words maximum.
Line 2. Repeats at least 2 words from the first line and ends with He said or She said (or variation).

Line 3. Should repeat at least 2 words from Line 2.

It’s a loose form and variations are acceptable beyond the first few lines.
You want to repeat phrases and last words or dialogue often to create a nice flow.

Not every line should do this however.

It usually ends with a twist, punch line or surprise!

Here’s an example of a BUSTER I wrote in January

THAT’S IT
By Christopher J. Jarmick

“That’s it.”
“That’s it?” She asks,
“That’s It, this one is done, I’m Leaving it alone.
“So I can read it now? No more rewrites?”
“No more rewrites, it is what it is.”

“It’s good.” She said.
“Good, maybe, I thought it could be better.”
“Better already,” .
“If only I could believe it. You’ll say I’m too hard on myself.”
“You’re too hard on yourself.” She said.
“I knew you’d say that and maybe it’s true.”
“It’s true.”
“Bless you, I’ll try to believe you.”
“What else can you do? “She smiles.
“ Aha! That’s it.”
“What’s it?”
“The title.”

So write a poem that consists of a conversation… if you want… try to write a ‘ Buster. ‘ Why do I call it a Buster? It’s after Buster Keaton the silent comedian who would fool the audience with a twist—do something you expect and then…something else—something you usually didn’t expect that would catch you off-guard. Have Fun… Keep Writing.

DAY 7 POEMS Septolets!!!! 14 syllables and 14 words.

Syllable-1
By Chris & Teresa Jarmick

Suits
Blue, gray
Versatile
Two-for-one sale

Four trousers,
Six ties
Shirts.

Syllable -2
By Chris & Teresa Jarmick

Buy
Condo
Renovate
Fixer-upper

master suite
wood floors
Home

Word-1
By Chris & Teresa Jarmick

Overwhelming
perplexing choices
house or condo
yard or penthouse

wish list
price point
Re-assess

Word-2
By Chris & Teresa Jarmick

Butter chicken
Saffron Rice
Mango Curry
Nan

Tandoori flavors
Taste these words
Late lunch.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-
Poetry is Everything
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
©2012 Christopher J. Jarmick All Rights Reserved

6 comments

  1. […] at https://chrisjarmick.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/napowrimo-april-8-2012-day-830/ and http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/ Rate this: Share this:FacebookLike this:LikeBe the first […]


  2. I hadn’t read the prompt, so my sonnet is fortuitous! http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/napowrimo-8/


  3. Sorry, I left a link to my sonnet in the wrong place! http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/napowrimo-8/


  4. I love your site here, Chris. I came here by way of Viv’s blog, and I am so glad I did! I love septolets, and yours are wonderful. I especially like the one about food. I love writing about food.

    Pamela


    • Thank you, Pamela…. keep writing!!!!


  5. Yay! Something to help me know what to write about! I love this. I’ll have to try it! 🙂
    Rachel



Leave a Reply

