h1

NaPoWriMo Monday April 9, 2012 9/30

April 8, 2012

Monday, April 9nd, 2012 NaPoWriMo Day 9

Any healthy man can go without food for two days – but not without poetry.–Charles Baudelaire

Today is Charles-Pierre Baudelaire’s Birthday! The often bawdy, controversial French poet, essayist and art critic was born this day in 1821 (and died in 1867).

An artist is an artist only because of his exquisite sense of beauty, a sense which shows him intoxicating pleasures, but which at the same time implies and contains an equally exquisite sense of all deformities and all disproportion.--Charles Baudelaire

TODAY’S PROMPT

So in his honor it’s time to write something outrageous.

If the poet has pursued a moral objective, he has diminished his poetic force.–Charles Baudelaire

However be outrageous wittily not by using coarse language. Do it passionately like Baudelaire. You can be outraged about something in your poem… or you can write something controversial and outrageous but be like Baudelaire!

It is time to get drunk! So as not to be the martyred slaves of Time, get drunk; get drunk without stopping! On wine, on poetry, or on virtue, as you wish.–Charles Baudelaire

Baudelaire at Poets.Org here: http://www.poets.org/poet.php/prmPID/607

DAY 8 PROMPT POEMS (Conversation poem and perhaps making it a ‘Buster’)

Wordless (BUSTER)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

“Words are becoming meaningless!”
“Words are becoming meaningless?” She asked
“Meaningless.”
“Words like: I love you?”
“Love is mis-used.”
“But I do love you.”
“And I love you.”
“And love is meaningless?” She pouted.
“No our love isn’t meaningless.”
“But saying I love you is meaningless?”
“I Love New York”
“And I really love my new shoes,” she laughed.

“That’s probably true!”
“Most definitely true.”
“Shoes more than me?”
“No, most days, you more than shoes.””
“Most days?”
“You want me to be honest don’t you?”
“Only so much honesty I can take.”
“You can take more than most.”
“Really? You think I can take more than most?”
“Most of the time.”
“Maybe some of the time”
“More than some of the time and that’s more than most.. .” She said
“So Some is more than most?”
“Oh dear, your back to your meaningless words theory again.”
“Indeed, but I don’t blame you.”
“Who do you blame?”
“TV, Internet and Hallmark Cards.”
“Hallmark cards? “ She asked.
“Greeting card verses like I didn’t believe love was true. . .”
“…until the day that I met you,” she finished.

“Meaningless.”
“Not meaningless to everyone.”
“Over-used, banal, trite, cliché. . .”
“You’re words aren’t cliché’”
“Some are, others may wind up cliché,” I said.
“Cliché s have meaning.”
“Cliché’s are shortcuts for real emotions.”
“ Shortcuts to a point aren’t bad.”
“Too easy, lazy..”
“You know you might be right,” she said.
“You know what else?”
“What?”
“I really love you.”
“You mean it?” She asked.

4.8.12 Conversation Poem
By Teresa Jarmick

“Her, too?”

“Yes, her too.” I said, looking around, waiting for another to arrive.

“I can’t wait to see the next one, how many more do you think there are?”

“I don’t know, hard to say.”

“May I take pictures?”

“No.”

“I think that’s all tonight,” I said.

“Do they know?”

“No.”

“Are you going to tell them?”

“No.”

“I can’t see you continuing like this.”

“No.”

“What are you going to do?”

“Keep me.”

 

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-
Poetry is Everything
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
©2012 Christopher J. Jarmick All Rights Reserved

One comment

  1. Mine is here: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/napowrimo-day-9/



Leave a Reply

