h1

NaPoWriMo On Your Marks….First Prompt Posted Tomorrow!!!

March 30, 2013

NaPoWriMo begins Monday April 1, 2013.  Yep April Fool’s day.
Tomorrow I’ll be posting my first NaPoWriMo prompt. Join me and thousands that include writers of all disciplines around the world including published poets, new poets, non-poets who are challenging themselves to write a poem each and every day of April. 30 poems in 30 days.

 
April is National Poetry Month. What’s that mean? Go here:
Wikipedia National Poetry Month entry with links

 
What’s NaPoWriMo? Go here:
The NaPoWriMo Central sight.

 

Every day in April on this PoetryIsEverything blog you’ll find a prompt—a challenge—a sort of assignment to write a poem about a suggested topic or idea and possibly using a form of poetry. Some are going to be out of the box, some you may think lame, and some you may find too difficult for you to tackle. These are challenges I’m making for myself. (I’ve been doing NaPoWriMo since 2005).

 
You do NOT have to follow any prompts or take on any challenge I or anyone else is suggesting. The idea is just to write a poem a day every day throughout the month of April. Some writers alter the challenge slightly, vowing to average a poem a day for 30 days but sometimes finding themselves catching up on their writing on the weekends when they make more time for it. Do what you can, when you can.  Thinking about poetry, reading poetry and hopefully writing some poetry every day (even if you don’t finish) is what NaPoWriMo is about.

 
Tomorrow on this blog you’ll find a suggested prompt. I’ll use the prompt to write a poem and I’ll post my poem (good, awful or in-between) the day after it is written, along with the next day’s poetry prompt challenge. This will continue throughout the month of April. Feel free to comment (whether or not you are participating).

 
Don’t be intimidated. Some of the poems I’ll create will be awful. (sorry about that). Some will lay the groundwork for a good poem (I hope). Most will need further editing and revision before they shine. A few may wind up being pretty good right (write?) away. That’s been my experience and it may be yours.

 
YOU don’t have to write every day to participate. Write as much as you are able. You don’t lose because you miss a day or half the days or even most of the days. You win because you participate and challenge yourself to write something. You win BIG if you challenge yourself to write something you would not have otherwise written. This is key to the exercise. Grow.  Add poetry muscle.  Burn poetry apathy.  You grow by reading and writing more. You grow by pushing yourself past anything that says you cannot…. I challenge you to write some poems. I further challenge you to write some poems on topics or in poetry forms or using words you wouldn’t have used if you were left to your own devices. I challenge you to create and grow as a writer, a creator (the root word of poetry is creation) and write. I challenge you to share what you write. It may be awful but we learn by our efforts and our mistakes. Others learn by your efforts too. Share your poems on Facebook, on your blog, in emails, with friends and family.

 
Personal Note: Some of my prompts and writing this April will help prepare me for a unique project I’m honored to be part of that will include a public performance at the Snoqualmie Washington historic train depot. It’s being put together and directed by Joan Laage and will include elements of dance, poetry, performance art and experimental music. It will happen on a Saturday and Sunday in late August or early September. I’ll be writing and performing some original spoken word pieces for the project so I’ll hopefully get something I can use for this project from some of the prompts and challenges I’ll be creating for this year’s NaPoWriMo. (By all means look here at Joan Laage’s website)
I’m cooking up a wide range of challenges and suggested prompts for you, for me…

 
Be ready.
And so it begins……

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Christopher J. Jarmick is a Seattle based writer, very active in the Northwest Poetry Community. His latest book is called IGNITION; Poem Starters, Septolets, Statements & Double Dog Dares. Click on it to find out more about it.

Leave a Reply

