h1

NaPoWriMo Day 3 Prompt for Wednesday April 3, 2013 April 2, 2013

April 2, 2013

“The greatest thing in this world is not so much where we are, but in what direction we are moving.

– Oliver Wendell Holmes

Welcome to day 3. Jump right in and get in on the NaPoWriMo challenge to write a poem a day. Use the prompt/challenge or don’t. Write as many days as you are able. Challenge yourself and share your work with others via email, via comments, via blogs, via facebook. Enjoy.

Prompt number 3

I’ve never encountered this challenge or prompt before but I figure someone must have come up with it before. It uses found poetry /cross-out poetry. Use a newspaper, or magazine article (print or digital). Choose two paragraphs and from those two paragraphs construct your opening line for your poem by using just the words that are there in the same order (crossing out ones you don’t use). Try to NOT use consecutive words (except articles: a, an, the, etc.).

Your poem’s second line is one you come up with.

For the poems third, and fifth line choose two more paragraphs to get your sentences from.

Your poem should be at least 6 lines long. 8 to 10 is even better. The odd number lines are ‘found’, the even number lines you write. Develop a subject, tone, and voice if possible.

The April 2nd prompt (today’s prompt) was to write a poem using Tabloid Titles. See yesterday’s blog for details.

April 1st Prompt was to write an Ekphrastic style poem on Hawaiian Shirts. (It came from an idea by my wife Teresa and I used it). Here are our poems:

Poem Starter 1401 (Hawaiian Shirt Poem Starter)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Pen leaked staining Hawaiian shirt
But most don’t notice when I wear it.

Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Hawaiian Shirt
By Christopher J. Jarmick (with apologies to Wallace Stevens)

I.
Among well dressed suit and tie bankers
at crowded airport gate
the man with Hawaiian shirt
stood out.

II.
In Seattle grocery store
a different man in Hawaiian Shirt
said, ‘Aloha’ to me.
I smiled.

III.
Over Hawaiian shirt
man in post office line
has red and black flannel shirt
Northwest style.

IV.
There at computer desk in library
sits man in bright purple and orange
Hawaiian shirt.
I must join this quiet revolution
wear my Hawaiian shirt.

V.
I do not know which one to wear
Ocean palm tree formal style
Or abstract splashes of rusty colored
Floral shapes on off white.

VI.
Double exposure like reflection
In store window on mannequin wearing
High fashion White dress,
now my Hawaiian shirt faintly part of it.

VII.
Once fashioned from Japanese Kimono fabric
Sold mainly to tourist in 1930s
Now business-wear for islanders
Collared shirt, button front, short sleeves, straight hem.
Do not tuck in true Hawaiian Shirt.

VIII.
Does banker in formal attire
take me less serious as I talk
investments—or perhaps this
shirt says money bought freedom.
I remember my Hawaiian shirt
styled tie with Mickey Mouse heads
throughout.

IX.
A pair of Hawaiian shirts
walk across green grass
in park many floors below.
I notice them first.

X.
Beach Boy song
plays during elevator ride
to parking garage.

XI.
Late afternoon
Starbucks line
Teen wears bright yellow
red bird of paradise
Hawaiian shirt
texting on phone.

XII.
I spy jogger
in what once was called Aloha shirt,
among floral design is a peace sign
The radio station plays the theme from
Fellini’s 8 ½ by Nina Rota. It oddly fits
my people watching mood.

XIII.
Light fading
as I arrive home,
plot thrift shop browse
(perhaps tomorrow)
for new Hawaiian shirts.

Hawaiian Mirror
By Teresa Jarmick

Brushed cotton, white collar sits on
Two undone buttons creating the perfect
Entry for my head.
Baby blue clouds float above the
Neck and shoulders,–peaceful, calm.
Daisy outlines in ‘look-at-me’ orange
Chain themselves together across
the chest, around the arms and back.
Cotton grades to mist then sea green
to abdomen; turquoise shadow
span belt, holding hands girl-
Boy, boy-girl, girl; their
feet fade into deep sea blue.
Larger daisies, white now,
throw themselves up
till the blue ends and the
white stops below hips.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Christopher J. Jarmick is a Seattle based writer, very active in the Northwest Poetry Community. His latest book is called IGNITION; Poem Starters, Septolets, Statements & Double Dog Dares. Click on it to find out more about it.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

2 comments

  1. […] After I griped about it for the rest of the day, I decided to find another prompt and I did here. Thanks Christopher J. Jarmick for giving me an alternative to the shanty. Looking out my window on […]


    • procrastination and griping are not exclusive to writer’s rights and rights to passage but is certainly one of a writer’s irrevocable inclusions. In other words: Your welcome. Glad I could help. Keep writing.



Leave a Reply

