h1

NaPoWriMo Day 9 Prompt for Tuesday, April 9, 2013 April 8, 2013

April 8, 2013

“Dig until you hit rock. Then take out that jackhammer and go a little deeper.”
Allison Brennan

After a few days, many find it quite challenging to write a poem every day for a wide variety of reasons. A lot of the somewhat valid and good-sounding excuses are related to time. I found several years ago, setting aside an hour or so every day, even if it meant giving up an hour of television was worth the trouble. Get up an hour earlier if that is what it takes. Don’t ever let time be an excuse. You can always make time for important things…so make this an important thing that you make time for. If you don’t… you’ll never follow through and do it. I know… I’ve been there….

Some of what you write won’t be very good, but you’ll find some good lines worth developing into better poems in the months ahead. Those lines would never have appeared if you didn’t push yourself to participate in NaPoWriMo. And you do NOT have to follow any prompt if you don’t want to. I suggest you try to follow a few prompts and challenge yourself to think outside of those things you normally perhaps wouldn’t think about. I pick prompts that for the most part require me to stretch and push myself. I have already had inner voices tell me that the prompt I came up with was stupid or lousy or not worth writing a poem about. I feel I have to push myself to make sure I write something for every prompt I suggest. I mean if I’m not doing it, encouraging others to do it seems rather hypocritical. After several years of doing NaPoWriMo I am more committed and determined to write every day. It’s not that it is any easier—it’s just simply I’ve trained myself to do. And I don’t do it every single day of the year…but I do it at least 300 days a years and feel a little guilty the days I don’t write something.
And not everyone is able to write. Some don’t know how, some are too sick, and some are imprisoned. This brings us to today’s prompt….

Day 9 Prompt

Write a poem that gives voice to someone or several who can not speak for themselves.

We writers and particularly poets have a gift. We write and share our ideas, our creativity potentially with the world. Many people through circumstance aren’t able to express themselves freely or perhaps don’t have the ability to write. Let’s write a poem that gives voice to someone. Perhaps a Chinese worker, an Afghan woman, a child living in an indigenous culture, a cancer victim, a homeless person, a young child tasting fresh water from a recently drilled well in Africa. It can be serious, it can be satirical, it can twist what I’ve suggested in whatever direction you fancy. Write on!

Day 7’s prompt suggested you write at least two Septolets. Here’s several Septolets Teresa and I came up with separately, then a few together created by alternating lines. Enjoy.

Counting Sylable Septolet
By Christopher J. Jarmick

One
Two, Three
Four, Five, Six
Seven, Eight, Nine

Ten, Eleven
Twelve, then
Stop.

(or)
Twelve Thir-
teen.

Golfers Septolet
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Deer
Playing
Golf, roaming
Fairways, grazing

Politely
Ignore
Carts

High Expectations
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Open books
waiting, still.
Conversations interrupted
plots paused

flow stopped
time frozen,
unfinished business

Viral Video Septolet
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Flash Mob
shocks Mall shoppers.
Victorian
rope swingers,

horses, chickens
creating
Rembrandt masterpiece pose.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

Fresh Septolet
By Teresa Jarmick

Fresh sheets
Open window
Cool night air
Books

Silence wrapped
Peaceful solitude
Weekend reservation

Breeze
By Teresa Jarmick

Breeze
Through screen
Makes me crawl
Under covers

Nose exposed
Sniffling
Spring.

T & C Septolets (alternating lines)

Syllable Septolet

Mulch
Covers
In deep red
What rain can’t clean

Thirsty pink
Petals
Spring

Word Septolet

Garlic
Three cloves
Permeates air
Delightful anticipation

Cheese melts
Over bubbling sauce
Gastronomic treat

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Christopher J. Jarmick is a Seattle based writer, very active in the Northwest Poetry Community. His latest book is called IGNITION; Poem Starters, Septolets, Statements & Double Dog Dares. Click on it to find out more about it.
Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

Leave a Reply

