h1

NaPoWriMo Day 10 Prompt for Wednesday, April 10, 2013 April 9, 2013

April 9, 2013

“If we don’t risk it all, we may as well not write at all.”
– Anne Stuart

We’re looking today at Day 10 of NaPoWrimo. The one-third mark of this 30 day challenge. You can start the challenge today, you can re-start the challenge today.

I’ve been sharing and will continue to share quotes on my daily NaPoWriMo writings. Do you have a favorite quote? Have you been inspired by a quote?

Day 10 Prompt

Write a poem that revolves around one or more of your favorite quotes in some way. If it is a quote of more than a few words, don’t use it verbatim but get its meaning across in a different way through the poem. You can do it metaphorically of course or any other way. If it is a short quote and you use it in the poem, explore it, find a interesting, unique and unlikely way to share it, explain it, but with a twist that tells us why it is important/special to you. At the end of the poem, share the quote and who said it/ wrote it.

Day 8’s Prompt was inspired by interviewer, editor, author William Kenower’s oft asked question: If writing, just writing has taught you anything—it has taught you what?

Question everything.
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Every poem
began as a question.
Some were challenges–
can I do it?
The answer is yes.
Always it’s possible
just by the daring.
Many of these poems
that were only that
and nothing more
are bad poems.
Always?
No,
always good in the bad,
always purpose
in the doing, always lessons
to be learned
if you ask questions
and listen.

Questions invite answers,
Signal, you are receptive
You perhaps are listening,
Considering,
Expanding what you know.
Writing taught me to
Question.
The status quo,
Others
But most of all
Myself.
Question everything
from ability
to what I believe
how I think
And
What is Poetry?
Can I believe in it, in myself,
in God, in prayer, in humanity,
in fairness, in love, in faith?
I don’t need, couldn’t trust
all the answers to all the questions
but I must keep asking, must care enough
to be curious, to search for truth or at
least the authentic root and ask did I plant
this answer myself, then forgot?

Is this a poem? Could this be a poem? Do I think it is a poem?
Should it be a poem?
Does it say anything? Does it have to say anything?
Should it say too much? Can it say less?
Is it ready? Is it truthful?
Authentic?
Is it from my heart, my gut, my head
or all three?
Does it surprise me? Was it too easy?
Should there be a little more? Should it try too hard?
Will anyone else care?
More importantly do I care?
Should I end it here?
Writing taught me to question,
And more important to listen.
Yes, I will end it here.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

Inspired by author/writer/radio host Bill Kenower’s question: If writing, just writing has taught you anything—it has taught you what?

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Christopher J. Jarmick is a Seattle based writer, very active in the Northwest Poetry Community. His latest book is called IGNITION; Poem Starters, Septolets, Statements & Double Dog Dares. Click on it to find out more about it.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

Leave a Reply

