h1

NaPoWriMo Day 22 Prompt for Monday, April 22, 2013 April 21, 2013

April 21, 2013

I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.
–Groucho Marx

I’m leaving because the weather is too good. I hate London when it’s not raining.
–Groucho Marx

Day 22 of NaPoWriMo. Write something. If you aren’t sure what to write or want a challenge use the prompt.

Prompt 22 –Acronyms are everywhere, they are commonly used in texting (LOL), they are used in the work-place. Some are very specialized, some are common. Choose an acronym (real or imagined) and re-define it. In your poem reveal what it stands for. You can go to the website Acronym Attic and find many you may have never heard of before. Use a really obscure one or make up what it means and explain it in a poem.

Prompt 20: asked you to use a random though and start your poem from there. Keep it authentic.

Not a Neil Young Poem
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Why did I suddenly become very interested in Neil Young?
Surprising since although I like several of his songs
his whining voice irritates me more than Dylan or Cohen.
After 4 or 5 of his songs I become impatient and start tuning out
his voice, his words and must take a break.
I read and enjoyed his rambling but interesting autobiography,
watched several of his quirky movies and the three concert films
Directed by Jonathan Demme (Heart of Gold is a real gem).
I borrowed a half-dozen of his albums from the library as well
in the last few months.
He has written good songs
He has written bad songs
I believe him.
He is authentic
Has integrity
And has been on an interesting artistic journey for 6 decades.

Perhaps I was ready to listen to some of the things he has said
and understand them better than I have when I’ve heard
similar things from others.
People around me have quoted his songs
more than usual.
Why him?
Why now?
You can’t keep doubting what you are doing,
worry about what others think
or let failure ever stop your efforts.
Never be afraid to fail.
It is good to fail.
Good to fall and pick yourself
back up and continue forward
Learning how to never fear failure again.
makes you a stronger
invincible warrior artist.
Try new things, trust that your artistic instincts
are most important of all and if you believe in what you are doing
at least in the moment, that is all that matters.
If compromise feels wrong,
don’t compromise
–not even for money.
–not even for a lot of money.
Sell yourself, but don’t sell out.
When you are no longer afraid to fail
you will remember you are capable of impossible things.
If you don’t go for it, you will always wonder
what might have been.
Regret never sleeps.
I’m not quoting Neil Young directly but
he has said similar things.
He drives his old cars down less travelled roads
so he can hear the music
missed by most.
I may never be a fanatical Neil Young fan,
But he’s won me over.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Christopher J. Jarmick is a Seattle based writer, very active in the Northwest Poetry Community. His latest book is called IGNITION; Poem Starters, Septolets, Statements & Double Dog Dares. Click on it to find out more about it.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2013

Leave a Reply

