h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 10 Prompt for Wednesday, April 10, 2014 Posted April 9, 2014

April 9, 2014

“When a poet digs himself into a hole, he doesn’t climb out. He digs deeper, enjoys the scenery, and comes out the other side enlightened.”
― Criss Jami

 

Welcome to Day 10 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. I know that I stretch a bit during NaPoWriMo and attempt to write on subjects and in styles that are a bit out of my wheel-house. Many of these writes I would normally abandon and give-up on because the results are sloppy and unfinished but…I’m sort of obligated to share my poems on my posts so I attempt to make the best of it which means I have to let something be seen that isn’t ‘ready’ yet. Sometimes, I return to these rough-shod quick writes and they wind up being revised and turned into something that’s better and different than I would have composed if left completely on my own without the self-imposed rules and deadlines of the NaPoWriMo challenge. I learn something about the process, about poetry, my relationship to poetry and writing and every once in a while something approaching good and worthwhile emerges.

 
I hope your experiences with writing a poem a day and taking on challenges and prompts is challenging, rewarding, uncomfortable and worthwhile for you.

 

I also wanted to give a shout-out to a wonderful Northwest Poet (who has a brand new collection of poems recently published) and shares NaPoWriMo prompts on her blog throughout the month of April. I’m thinking in this case of Joannie Stangeland and you can check out her blog and prompts here.

THURSDAY April 10th Prompt

Prompt: Write an Inappropriate Poem.

 

Write something outrageous, dangerous, uncomfortable, inappropriate, perverted, unseemly, irresponsible, politically incorrect, in bad taste. . . controversial, (perhaps) BUT . . . do it PG or at least PG13 style with some sense of restraint and avoiding bad language. It can be dark or flaunt ‘sick humor’. It could be a poem in a creepy, twisted ‘voice’ or something else that you couldn’t, shouldn’t and wouldn’t normally let yourself do. If it comes out immature and stupid. . . allow it to be what it wants to be and have the. . . uh courage. . . to share it in a post. It’s time. Do It! I double dog dare you! Fun fun fun…..

 

(and Don’t pretend you aren’t sure what I mean!)
What I wrote for yesterday’s prompt:

Prompt: Ekphrastic Poem inspired by a Painting/Fine Art.

The Old Guitarist (Pablo Picasso 1903)
by Christopher J. Jarmick

 

For hours the old man
sits on sidewalk
picking strings of his guitar.
His frail thin body
bent and used
now part of his guitar
Oblivious to those who pause
and listen
He strums his music
in tune with the past.
E flat major
for a love he lost
a face idealized
transformed into
notes only he completely hears.
The colors dimmed
to silver greys and blues
the music framing life is
all that matters.
The shadows will not take him
the smokey air,
the hard concrete
the twilight of his life
beyond his thoughts
There’s only this guitar
stirrings from his soul
plucked on strings
in moonlit dreams
he rides the
soundwaves
to places
far
beyond.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

See the painting by Picasso here

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here:

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

