h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 20 Prompt for Sunday April 20, 2014 Posted April 19, 2014

April 19, 2014

“Poetry puts starch in your backbone so you can stand, so you can compose your life.”
Maya Angelou

 

Welcome to Day 20 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. There’s no fanfare or parade for getting to the two-third mark of the challenge, but if you close your eyes . . . Still plenty of time to write a poem a day from right now till the end of the month, so if you aren’t already committed, feel free to join in.

Now for today’s prompt.

Sunday April 20th Prompt

Prompt 20 – Write a Poem about a family photograph
What will you write about a family photograph that captured a moment from years ago. Something sweet and sentimental? Something humorous and or revealing? Explore the photograph, and what it evokes in you today through your write.
Here’s what I wrote for Prompt 19 which suggested you write a Gripe or complaint poem.

Not A Complaint Poem
by Christopher J. Jarmick

I could complain
’bout hypocrites, politics,
bad drivers, high prices
dumb movies, TV,
lousy music, damn kids

enough to make you insane
but I’ll restrain myself
and not complain.

Just 25 bucks
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Dishwasher’s definitely broke.
It’s something rarely seen
with this superior brand of machine
But not cheaper to keep her
Repair almost as much as new one.
How much do I owe you?
“Well you save 25 bucks with that coupon
So just 50 bucks today.
Sorry for the bad news
But it could have been worse
Saved 25 bucks!”

Price compare
New Consumer Reports approved best buy.
Appliance store sales clerk
seems like a nice enough guy.
Model you want is on sale – no joke
And Easy no interest 18 month financing
means you won’t be flat broke
More good news, he tells me, is on the way
Probably won’t get a bill at all for 60 days!

But the bill arrives a week after new washer
with minimum payment
25 bucks
due in 10 days.
But just my fate
Though I send it off in a week
But they claim it was processed a day too late
So they charge 25 bucks.
25 bucks? Is this my fate?
$25 bucks?
Okay only 25 bucks, what’s 25 bucks
No big deal this 25 bucks… but hey wait wait
This ain’t right.
Minimum payments is just 25 bucks,
But a day late and it’s another 25 bucks

Just 25 bucks, no big deal 25 bucks
Only 25 bucks, what’s 25 bucks.

I wonder if it’s a scam
How many pay it
But the salesman said
I wouldn’t get the bill right away.
He shouldn’t have said that
But he did say that
How do we know he really said that.
Does it seem fair that I had less than two weeks
to start paying this bill
Not anything we can do
Should I really pay this
And feel angry and blue?
Just 25 bucks, no big deal 25 bucks
Only 25 bucks, what’s 25 bucks.

Cop pulls me over
Says my brake light is out
Should I moan and shout?
Just got my car back from the garage
600 bucks I lost
And now another
New repair cost.
“License and registration
and proof of insurance please.”
Smile nice, Chris
Don’t share your consternation
“This insurance card expired last week.”
I hand over another,
Not the one I seek
It’s even older so I hand him a statement
Counting on at least some good will
But he shakes his head,
“That’s not proof, just a bill.
I’ll be right back.”

10 minutes later there’s a ticket.
“Not giving you one for the brake light
That wouldn’t be right
But I wrote you up for not having insurance
Might cost you 550 bucks
But you won’t have to pay
Don’t worry.”

“What’s that you say?”
“Show the courthouse clerk
you have current insurance
and aren’t some irresponsible jerk
and all will be good.”
“550 bucks would give me a fright
So,l thanks I suppose.”
“Yep have a good night.”

One week goes by
My time does fly
I drive to the courthouse
Park for free
There’s a clerk
I need to see. . .
“Officer said this will be dismissed
little more than a canard
and I won’t to have to pay
long as I show you my insurance card.”
“That is correct
Ticket is dismissed,
you won’t have to pay
except a 25 dollar administration fee!”

“What’s that you say. . .
25 bucks?”
“Yes, the administration fee”
I see.
I didn’t commit a crime
I drive across town
wasting my free time
to handle this minor infraction.
I could get angry and blue
but that’s not the best thing to do;
Hell… it’s
just 25 bucks, no big deal 25 bucks
only 25 bucks, what’s 25 bucks.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here:

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

