h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 22 Prompt for Tuesday April 22, 2014 Posted April 21, 2014

April 21, 2014

“Out of the quarrel with others we make rhetoric; out of the quarrel with ourselves we make poetry.”
W.B. Yeats

Welcome to Day 22 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. There’s just 8 more to go!!! As usual let me congratulate you for your efforts, encourage you to keep going and if you are able do your very best to write a poem each and every day until we are done.

Now for today’s prompt.

Tuesday April 22nd Prompt

PROMPT 22 Write a Poem (or Lyrics) inspired by a piece of instrumental music (any style).

Write some song lyrics to a piece of instrumental music that does not have any lyrics. OR. . . since this is difficult to do in a limited amount of time; write a poem that is inspired by an instrumental piece of music (any genre including rock, electronic, jazz, classical, country etc.). Tell us what the song or inspiration was.

Yesterday’s prompt 21 suggested that you write a Parody of a well-known rhyming poem. I wrote these.

NURSERY RHYMES RE-WRITTEN FOR OUR TIMES
By Christopher J. Jarmick

1 . Dexter Texter

Dexter Texter driving his Nash
Dexter Texter had a big crash
All the policemen and all the good doctors
Couldn’t put Dexter together again.

1. (Not Hickory, Dickery Dock)

Blue Cross, Kaiser doc,
Your patient care’s on the clock
The clock struck one
And now your done
Blue Cross, Kaiser doc.

2. Hush Now Senator (Not Hush Little Baby- Mockingbird)

Hush, now Senator don’t pass that bill,
and we’ll by flying you
to a fancy resort

And if that resort won’t do
we’re going to buy you
good TV coverage too.

And if that coverage turns sour
we’re going to buy you
exra influence and power

And if that power doesn’t float
we’re gonna buy you
an extra vote

And if that vote should abstain
we’re gonna buy you
jobs back home to ease the pain.

And if those jobs unionize
we’re gonna buy you
a judge and strategize.

And if that judge won’t play ball
we’re gonna buy you his impeachment
but that’s not all.

Hush now Senator, just sit on your hands
And we’ll soon buy your election
as leader of these lands.

NAPOWRIMO (With apologies to Dr. Seuss)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

I am Chris
Chris, you know

That Chris, you know
That Chris, you know
I do not like
that Chris, you know.

Do you like NaPoWriMo?

I do not like it , please just go
I’d rather watch my T.V. show.

You could write one in your chair
Rhyme one with a word like hair

I won’t write one here or there
I won’t write one, I don’t care
I much prefer to sit and stare.
I do not NaPoWriMo.
I do not like it, Chris, just go

Let me show you
It’s such fun
Let me show you
‘fore I run.

I do not like them
It’s not fun
I do not like them
Go and run

Would you? Could you?
on a dare?
Write one, Write one,
And then share..

I would not, could not,
on a dare.
Will not write one
Will not share

You would love it
Can’t you see
You would love it
Believe me.
Would you write one
In a car?
Would you write one
‘bout a star?

Not in a car,
‘bout a star
Not on a dare
I will not share
I won’t write one here or there
I much prefer to sit and stare.
I do not NaPoWriMo.
I do not like it, Chris, just go

Try it! Try It
Don’t say no
Try it! Try It!
Then I’ll go!

Say!
This really ain’t so bad
Say!
I don’t feel as sad!
I could write one here or there
Even as I sit and stare.
I could do this in a car
Even one’ bout a star
I’ll write one a dare
about my thinning hair
And yes I’ll even share

I do so like NaPoWriMo
Thank you! Thank you,
Chris, I know.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here:
http://www.bubblews.com/news/2809602-april-is-national-poetry-month-and-napowrimo-part-1-of-3

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

