h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 23 Prompt for Wednesday April 23, 2014 Posted April 22, 2014

April 22, 2014

“I do not know which to prefer,
The beauty of inflections
Or the beauty of innuendos
The blackbird whistling
Or just after.”
Wallace Stevens

Welcome to Day 23 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. Well we’ve one week to go! Again congratulations for participating in NaPoWriMo. If you’ve been observing, thank you for that if the muse allows feel personally invited to write a poem a day for the next 7 days. It’s invigorating and though the work is usually rough first draft, I know several new fully developed poems will grow from my efforts this month. ENJOY!

Now for today’s prompt

Prompt 23 Write two or more Poem Starters from the following suggested 10 words:

Basin, departed, weary, dance, journey, pocket, river, corner, children, guitar

Use 3 to 4 of these words per Poem Starter. 4 to 6 lines is best. Title your work Poem Starter (and then a number like 100…for instance).

My Poem Starters are a very loose form of poetry. 2 to 8 lines (usually less than 40 characters per line) and they embrace the idea of the one-liner or punch line and can be about anything you want, but should feel like a thought or idea that is compact and might lead to a longer poem (though they are complete as they are). They also embrace the idea that rules were made to be broken, so these ‘rules’ should be considered suggestions. (I follow the rules a little more carefully in recent times, but certainly didn’t as I developed it starting back in 2003) You don’t have to create a meter or rhyme unless you want to.

I published a book of them in 2010 (that you’ll find at Amazon or better yet Lulu.com since I actually make 3 or 4 dollars per book sold from there). Ignition: Poem Starters, Septolets, Statements and Double Dog Dares by Christopher J. Jarmick is what it’s called.

The Titles should be Poem Starter and a number. . . the number might have a meaning of some sort that has a relationship to the poem, though it can be personal and obtuse (and you don’t have to explain if there is any relationship to the number). I’ve written many Poem Starters where the number links to the content in some ways and I’ve written many where the date it was written is represented in the number and in many cases the number means absolutely nothing at all. Have fun with it.

Yesterday’s PROMPT 22 suggested you write a poem/lyrics inspired by a piece of instrumental music (any style).

I wrote lyrics to a beautiful instrumental by Claude Bourbon called Up in the Attic that’s on his The Travelling Man CD from Frog Records 2008.

To The One I Let Run Free (Up in the Attic)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Long ago
in my youth
there’s a girl
French accent
didn’t know her name

summer time
missed my train
saw brown hair
violet eyes
what was she doing there

This must be fate
her train was late
soon she didn’t care

I made her laugh
she needed that
we made some plans

we left the trains
walked down crowded streets
Then she told me
I won’t deceive
There’s a man I love
But one I can’t believe.

Walk with me on these city streets
As if we didn’t care
Walk with me on these city streets
As if we did not care
As if we were a pair

Meant to be
You and me

Newborn passion not a lie
Would it… never, never die

Now kiss me deep, and make a boast I need to hear you
Say I’m the lover you’ll miss most
Then let me go back home

I see her face
I feel her hand,
but I’m not sad
I kissed her lips
Didn’t know her name
But hear her laugh
I still can hear her laugh

To the one, I let run free.

Note: I met and performed with Claude Bourbon 2 years ago at a Words and Music House Concert in Vaughn, Washington. I did poetry, he did music and as an encore he played some music as I talk-sang some poetry in an improvisational style. We talked about possibly writing a few songs together. He lives in Portsmouth on the South Coast of England, and is originally from Payerne, Switzerland. I knew we would be performing together on May 24th, of 2014 in Vaughn Washington and have been thinking about writing a song to the Up in the Attic music. I worked on this about 4 hours, and told Claude I would be doing this….which he is looking forward to. it’s likely we’ll do the song as a duet at the House concert in May (with probably about 15 minutes rehearsal before-hand). The NaPoWriMo prompt enforced a tough deadline to keep and I’m fairly satisfied with the result… looking forward to its next incarnation!

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here:

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

