h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 24 Prompt for Thursday April 24, 2014 Posted April 23, 2014

April 23, 2014

“I went down to the river,
I set down on the bank.
I tried to think but couldn’t,
So I jumped in and sank.”
― Langston Hughes

Welcome to Day 24 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. We’re making the final turn and about to be on that homestretch. Mostly it’s been fun concocting challenges and prompts for you and myself and a few of my writes will likely wind up being above average poems! I pushed myself a little bit and wrote some things I would not otherwise have attempted. ENJOY!

Now for Thursday, April 24th , 2014 prompt

Prompt 24 : Write a clerihew.

What?

The clerihew is a little tricky but a really fun poetry form to try to write (you’ll see why in a moment). It’s a whimsical form (usually short) using forced rhymes that was invented by Edmund Clerihew Bentley and popularized in several poetry collections he published. One of his best known from 1905 is this one:

Sir Christopher Wren
Said, “I am going to dine with some men.
If anyone calls
Say I am designing St. Paul’s.

Here are the rules in writing a clerihew:

Rhyme scheme is AA BB (and continued in that pattern CC, DD, etc. until you are done.). Note: The end of the first line, rhymes with the end of the second line (A A) . The next couplet (two lines) should not rhyme with the first two lines. In the above example line three ends with calls and line four ends with Paul’s creating B B. If you continue beyond that you can create a new rhyme C C or do another A A rhyme and your next couplet could be DD or BB. You get the idea I hope regarding the rhyme.

Rule 2: The first line is the name of the poem’s subject, and it is usually a famous well known person. It is best to end the first line with that person’s name and then be creative in how you rhyme something to it (it can be very silly and forced).

Rule 3: It is often four lines long (but can be longer) and the lines vary length and meter for comical, whimsical effect.

Have fun writing one or two of these.

Here is what I wrote for Prompt 23

The quote I used today (above) popped out at me, since it fits in so well with what I wrote for Prompt 23. It’s coincidence since my write was done BEFORE I saw and picked this quote from my collection. It must have been in my subconscious.

Prompt 23 suggested you write two or more Poem Starters from the following suggested 10 words: Basin, departed, weary, dance, journey, pocket, river, corner, children, guitar.

I did a two part Poem Starter , each one using all 10 words that sort of tell a story. I did a couple of others that use 5 or 6 of the words in each.

Poem Starter 1423 (Part 1)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Weary from the children,the dance;
he departed taking his guitar from the corner
to embark on a slow journey
but first stop was the river basin, to empty his
pockets and write a song about
having more than he could carry.

Poem Starter 1423.5
By Christopher J. Jarmick
Using: Basin, departed,, river, corner, and guitar

In the corner of the Basin Nightclub
was a guitar, a since departed Bluesman swore
was given to him by Robert Johnson
on the shores of Mississippi river.

Poem Starter 1423.75
By Christopher J. Jarmick
Using: departed, weary, dance, corner, children, guitar

When the weary dancers departed, the children
followed the guitar player who somehow completely
vanished around the corner.

Poem Starter 1423 (Part 2)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

At the bottom of the basin they found
the departed Hobo’s guitar realizing he was Westbound.
The children gathered every October in Croft Corner
to watch him dance and play
which he did no matter
how weary, hungry or empty
his pockets were.

*Westbound is Hobo lingo for dead

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my
3 Part Series here.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

