h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 26 Prompt for Saturday April 26, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014

April 25, 2014

This poetry. I never know what I’m going to say.”
― Rumi

Welcome to Day 26 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. Sometimes. . . a challenge or even a NaPoWriMo prompt puts pressure and adds stress to my day. Yes, even though I’m creating these prompts and challenges for myself and others who want to take them on. . . I sometimes just want to rebel and do something completely different and irresponsible. It’s immature and childish behavior of course….and I apply some discipline and overcome this feeling….but… I acknowledge it exists in me and I know it exists in others. Some resent the idea of forcing themselves to write to any prompt or even look down their noses at the ‘game’ of it. I understand this. I feel it a bit myself. In fact, it has in a way become today’s prompt. So roll up those sleeves once more and dig in. ENJOY

THE PROMPT for Saturday April 26th, 2014

Below the prompt meant for tomorrow you’ll find what I came up for the April 25th Prompt.

Now for today’s prompt.

PROMPT 26 – Write an opposite or oppositional poem.

 
I’m going to be purposefully vague about the challenge. The idea of opposites could be applied in several ways towards inspiring the writing of a poem. It might mean writing something that somehow hides its intent by appearing to be opposite of what is actually meant… like a child upset saying: I Hate You to a parent when the opposite is meant. It could mean you write about opposite or opposing things. It could mean. . . well many things. You decide how you approach and write this poem. And it can be in any form or style you want.

Prompt 25 suggested that you Write a Cento or a collage poem that consists of lines and phrases borrowed from other poets.

Here’s the two I wrote:

Cento Museum
By Christopher J. Jarmick

Headed home, hitchhiking
from your museum of stones
collected from roadside, culvert and viaduct
the heads of the characters hammer through daisies;
This is all as ordinary as consciousness
The mind grabs and the shut eye sees
a ghost logger wanders a shadow.
Two days without food a truck rolls past

How I love to look at Old Warhols
the Genius of that cheek, lucid souvenir of the past.
Marilyn, Jackie, Campbell,
The man bent over his guitar
behind his loving smile — a slight wind
regardless of velvet, could never be more.
Blurred lines and grey flecks
the children on the lawn.
through throats where many rivers meet, the curlews cry
my heart wept custard.
I have to peel you off me.
I have to peel you off me.

All of the words of this poem are from phrases and lines of other poems: Carolyn Forche (Museum of Stones) ,Dylan Thomas (And Death Shall Have No Dominion; In the White Giant’s Thigh), Michael McClure (Field 11, Old Warhols, Christmas Morning in Samburu) Gary Snyder (Logging, Hunting, Maudgalyana saw hell), Wallace Stevens (The Worms at Heaven’s Gate, Mozart, 1935, The Man with the Blue Guitar, Mrs. Alfred Uruguay), Margaret Atwood (This is a Photograph of Me, The Circle Game, A Foundling, Power Politics)

Last Desperate Seconds (A Cento)
By Christopher J. Jarmick

She slips a pistol into her briefcase
Her soft voice denied any involvement
“It’s simply hopeless, isn’t it?”
I would like to die as I was born;
moon in the trees, the sound of rain on the roof.

The flies know
the mortgage on his soul was down to a dollar.
He studied the burial ground of images.
Lightning had to strike.
Somehow the earth remembers.

This Cento was created entirely from the phrases and lines of the following poets and poems: Jonathan Aaron (The End of Out of the Past), Beth Anderson (A Locked Room), Nin Andrews (Dedicated to the One I Love), Wendell Barry (Some Further Words), Billy Collins (Litany), Stephen Dunn (Open Door Blues), Stuart Dybek (Journal), Charles Port (The Vagrant Hours) James Galvin (Ponderosa) and Susan Dickman (Skin)

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

