h1

NaPoWriMo National Poetry Writing Month Day 30 Prompt for Wednesday, April 30, 2014 Posted April 29, 2014

April 29, 2014

“Poetry is the liquid voice that can wear through stone.”
Adrienne Rich

Welcome to Day 30 of the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge. We are just about done with National Poetry Month and with NaPoWriMo. So how are you doing with the prompts and challenges? Have you re-discovered poetry or been inspired to write something that you never would have attempted writing before? That’s what I hope happened to you over the last 30 days. And if you write 5 or 10 or 30 poems, than even better… congratulations! Here’s one more suggestion that might help get a poem down on paper.

Below the next prompt/challenge you’ll find what I wrote for Day 29.

THE PROMPT for Wednesday April 30th, 2014

Prompt 30 – Something old, something borrowed, something blue
For our last prompt we’ll use something old, something borrowed and included something blue.

Our poem will be 8 to 12 lines. Every other line (lines 2, 4, 6 and 8 and possibly 10 and 12) will be brand new lines that you write. One of more of these lines will include something blue.
For lines 1, 3, 5, 7, and possibly, 9 and 11 use lines from two to three of the poems you have written in the last 30 days.

Line 1 A line from a poem you wrote during the last 30 days
Line 2 Write something new
Line 3 Another line from a poem you wrote during the last 30 days

Your poem will be 8 or 10 or 12 lines long.
And remember at least one of your new lines will have something blue in it.

And that’s your prompt for the last day of National Poetry Month!

HERE’S WHAT I wrote for prompt 29.

Prompt 29 suggested you write a poem about a home remodel.

THE WISE DO-IT-YOURSELFER POEM
By Christopher J. Jarmick

That Wadsworth Longfellow fella was a do it yourselfer at heart
He wrote: Ah to built, to build! That is the noblest art of all the arts
And dared to say painting and sculpture mere shadows cast outward
The signs I saw made sense to me
How hard could a bath remodel really be?

Fear not timid reader
I may not be handy
But I’ve common sense, don’t you see.
And I’m not a complete fool
No no no

I know a few of the rules:
If it doesn’t fit, you force it . . .
And if it breaks, it obviously needed to be replaced.
When things move and they shouldn’t
Its duct tape time
And if it doesn’t move but it should
Don’t worry about making it rhyme
Get out the WD 40.

And after I assess all the damage I’ve caused
And count the cuts and bruises I created
on the canvas known as my body
I know in my heart
Exactly what I must do
for my art. . .

It does no good to sit and stew
So I pick up the phone
And call a licensed contractor
or two.

Copyright© Christopher J. Jarmick 2014

Keep writing!!!

Read more about National Poetry Month 2014 and NaPoWrimo in my 3 Part Series here.

The root of the word Poetry is from the Greek ποιέω (poieō), “‘I
make’”). , poiesis, meaning a “making” or ‘creation’

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–=-=-

Poetry is Everything

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Leave a Reply

