h1

NaPoWri’Mo Day 23 – Prompt for April 23, 2015

April 22, 2015

Welcome to Day 23 of NaPoWriMo.  And now there are 8 to go. The last few days I’ve been submitting several batches of poem to various magazines and poetry journals.  I started doing it in big waves, last September/October (and at least every three or four weeks I’ll submit some more work) which entails researching/reading journals that actually pay for poetry (20 to 50 dollars mostly) to see if what I write is possibly a fit for what they have published in the recent past. Some of this research and reading is done online, and some in the library or bookstore.   Places that pay anything for poetry and don’t charge poets to submit (or charge less than $3) are going to receive thousands of submissions and probably somewhere between 1 to 3 percent of submissions are actually published. I’ve had a few poems accepted in the last year which encourages me enough to keep submitting on a regular basis.  I also have a collection of poetry that will be published in September by Moonpath Press and that’s gives me a little boost and helps me deal better with all the rejections.  During NaPoWriMo things get really poetically intense for me.  Mostly it’s a good thing.  I hope your enjoying challenging yourself to write a little more, a little differently during this month.   Anyway on with the prompt….

 DAY 23  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  April 23, 2015 

Write an 8 line ‘intersection’ poem.  Decide what that means for you.  What is an intersection poem?  What might it be?  Is it a ‘crossroads’ poem?  Is it a place where two people or two cultures or two ideas meet up?  Interpret the ‘intersection’ poem anyway you’d like.  8 lines.   Have fun.

 NAPOWRIMO PROMPT 21 POEMS

Prompt 21  suggested we write a poem about a life or learning experience that taught you something -an inner voice poem.    As I wrote my poem for this prompt, I discovered it would also work for the Writers Digest Poem a Day Prompt 20 suggestion.  Their prompt suggested writing a poem titled My BLANK, the BLANK (My Mother, the Car, My Dog, the Stress Reliever) which in my case became tTis poem which worked for both my prompt AND the WD prompt.

My Life, the changes

By Christopher J. Jarmick

We fear

and resist changes.

Mature

and accept changes.

Regress

and stop changing

to become set in our ways.

Discover

people we once knew

passed by us, went further,

Reflect

on regrets.

See

blocked doorways, dead ends,

Remember

childhood through rose colored glasses

Relive

your past, adding fictional revisions.

Decide

enough is enough.

Stop

accepting inevitable change

Insist

yesterday was better.

Justify

your errors

(It could have been worse).

Forget

that the learning

should never end.

Writers Digest Poem a Day Prompt 21 poem

The ‘two for Tuesday prompts suggested writing a “what you are” poem, or…

a “what you are not” poem.

I am the one who listened

by Christopher J. Jarmick

I am the one who listened.

Accepted you

when your guard was down

and your inner goofball

slipped out.

I’m the one you

dared to trust

more than you thought

it would ever be possible

to trust a member of the opposite sex

ever again.

I am the one who

gets to push your buttons,

infuriate you,

hold you,

disappoint you,

surprise you

(even though you

hate surprises).

I am the one

who scares you,

makes you feel safer,

takes you for granted

too much of the time,

but sometimes,

oh sometimes,

does just the right thing

at the right time

and makes life

a little better,

a little richer

a little more fun.

I am the one

you wore

and didn’t exchange.

The one with the

unknown expiration date

you don’t throw out

even when in doubt.

I am

yours.

Teresa’s Prompt 20

(an overheard conversation poem)

Three Generations

By Teresa Jarmick

Restaurant round table

“You could help me out here”

White cloth napkins

Grandpa’s tired

“How long does it take to get a cup of coffee?”

Five chairs, two siblings, a son,

Matriarch, patriarch

“Excuse me, I’ll be right back”

“Something for her birthday, sweet with a candle

Panna cotta?”

Crossed legs, khaki pants

“Carry this, no I meant to the car”

Walker visible

“I’ll just get it around the corner”

“Don’t help me, let go.”

Enjoy

Keep Writing

Leave a Reply

