h1

NaPoWriMo Day 28 – Prompt for April 28, 2015

April 27, 2015

Welcome to Day 28  of NaPoWriMo.  And then there were 3. . . we’re on the homestretch with the finish line in view. . .   One of my favorite books about poetry remains How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch.  I’ve read the entire book at least 3 times and the first 30 pages more than a half dozen.  It has encouraged many interesting discussions about poetry—perhaps too many – but that’s still a good thing.   Hirsch wrote an essay worth reading called How to Read a Poem for Poets.org.  But for an even better read. . .look at today’s prompt. . .

DAY 28  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  April 28, 2015

Read this generous excerpt from  How To Read a Poem (and fall in love with poetry) by Edward Hirsch.  It is from the book and very different than the essay located at poetry.org. Become the ‘scholar with one candle’ (Wallace Stevens)  Click on my link, read for a while and then write for 15 or 20 minutes.  From your writing create your poem.

NAPOWRIMO PROMPT 26 POEMS

Prompt 26  suggested you use a random first line generator as the first line of your poem

Thief

by Christopher J. Jarmick

The pen hadn’t been worth stealing.

On impulse I quickly slipped the thing

inside my pocket while the proprietor

was distracted with another customer.

I felt awful the moment after I did it.

Thief, thief, imaginary voices yelled in my head.

“Cut off his bleedin’ hand” a heavy English accented

Victorian era voice grumbled.

My prize might have been worth tens of thousands

but later when I examined it

I realized it was a fake,

It could never have belonged to Charles Dickens.

Now if someone had bought the thing

the shop-owner would have been the scoundrel

cheating a gullible customer out of his money.

But I didn’t know as I refused to resist temptation

that the pen wasn’t worth stealing.

Teresa’s Prompt 26 Poem

Read It

By Teresa Jarmick

“Read it over,” he said, “and see if you want to sign it.”

Not a start or an end, somewhere in the middle.

Years into the voyage, neither blank line nor ink will

Veer course.  I can see the horizon & my help

Comes from the hills.

He pushes papers, understands I’m not

Standing at a crossroads and waits

For me to toss the message overboard.

Writers Digest Poem A Day Prompt 26

Use some of Shakespeare’s ‘invented’ words in a poem.  (he created about 1700 new words, many original, many combinations or new derivations and many changing usages such as verbs into nouns etc).

The Game’s Afoot

By Christopher J. Jarmick

Shakesmouth has attask’d me

to convive ‘pon my NaPoWrimo addiction

leaving nary a moment for vizaments.

I’ll potch my gnarling discontent

risk besmichment from countless critics,

(including grammarian swashers) and submerge

compromise even if in my swaggering excitement

my premediated hurried efforts creates

a monumentally,obsequiously flawed

(or worse- a laughable, utterly worthless lackluster)

poem.

Your fracted oppugancy to my rant

be futile, an immoment of invis’d discontent.

My propugnation to relume poetic art

through this suppliance of Sir Shakesword’s words

will not be impeded by your renounciations.

In amazement you’ll hear the gossip hobnobbers

proclaim that fashionable Shakesheathe enthusiasts

generously championed my efforts proclaiming:

“Mirable! Mirable!”

Notes:

Renounciations, ‘pon and besmirchments are of my invention.

I’m pretty sure NaPoWriMo was never used by Shakespeare.

Title is from Henry V  Act 3 Scene 1.

I mangle Shakespeare’s name in affectionate homage to his wonderful and sometimes playful mangling of verbs and nouns to create new words.  Speare turned to mouth(e), sheath(e) and sword.)

Enjoy

Keep Writing

Leave a Reply

