h1

NaPoWriMo Day 24 Prompt for April 24, 2016

April 23, 2016

“A new word. Bright with possibilities.

 A flawless pearl to turn over and over in my hand,

 then put away for safekeeping.”

Jennifer Donnelly

 

DAY 24  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  April 24, 2016

Welcome to Day 24 of the NaPoWriMo challenge.  Use these prompts to inspire you to write a poem each and every day of April.

Word Mashup Poem

Write an 8 line (or longer) poem that has at least 2 mashup words (4 would be even better).  Mashup words means you put two words together that normally would not ever be put together and may in your mind have a meaning that is different than the meaning of either of the words separately.

For those living anywhere near Western Washington you might want to look at the new Poetry Day of the Week page that you’ll find in the upper right corner under PAGES.   A couple of times this month you may also find my Poetry Northwest announcements in between the NaPoWriMo posts.

If you post the poems on your blog or anywhere using this prompt… send me a link.

Enjoy!

DAY 1 PROMPT AND POETRY NORTHWEST READINGS EVENTS ETC. IS HERE:

My Day 22 Prompt Poem  (Prince Songs)

For Prince

By Christopher J. Jarmick

When 7 Doves Cry 2gether, pray for 17 days

4 the Tears in YOUR Eyes, and count the days.

 

Remember the dinner with Delores, her little red corvette,

raspberry beret and those diamond and pearls in Paisley Park?

 

Anna Stesia, cinnamon girl, darling Nicki and the beautiful ones

draped in pink cashmere had dirty minds in the days of wild.

We were so delirious we had to do it all night

no matter the controversy it caused (circa 1999)

on Alphabet Street in Erotic City.

 

Come on, do me baby, money don’t matter 2 night,

gigolos get lonely too. I wanna be your lover; get wild,

get It up, and cream.

Don’t talk 2 strangers, damn U, we’ll glam slam,

have the glamorous life and be the greatest romance ever sold

‘cause nothin’ compares 2 U.

 

You’re the most beautiful girl in the world,

U got the look,

U make my sun shine, and

I feel for you,

I would die 4 U if  I love U 2 nite though

I could never take the place of your man.

 

I am Insatiable.

Letitgo, kiss me, let’s go crazy, be scandalous,

pretend we’re married, sugar walls.

If I was your girlfriend, breakfast can wait as

we have a manic Monday love bizarre

build ice cream castles, and read the morning papers.

 

Just as long as we’re together,

hearing the rhythm of your heart

somewhere here on earth;

I know love-thy will be done.

 

The private joy of our strange relationship

means we can always laugh

in the purple rain.

 

 

Song titles used:   7, When Doves Cry, 2gether, 17 Days, 4 the Tears in YOUR Eyes, Pray, Count the Days, Dinner with Delores, Little Red Corvette, Raspberry Beret, Diamond and Pearls, Paisley Park,   Anna Stesia, Cinnamon Girl, Darling Nicki,The Beautiful Ones, Pink Cashmere, Days of Wild, Delirious, Dirty Mind, Do It All Night, Controversy, Alphabet Street, Erotic City, 1999, Come on, Do Me Baby, Money Don’t Matter 2 Night, Gigolos Get Lonely Too, I Wanna Be Your Lover, Get Wild, Get It Up, Cream, Don’t talk 2 Strangers, Damn U, Glam Slam, Glamorous Life, The Greatest Romance Ever Sold, Nothin Compares 2 U, You’re The Most Beautiful Ggirl in the W orld, U Got the Look,U Make My Sun Shine,  I feel for you, I Would Die 4 U, I Love U 2 Nite, I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man Insatiable,  Letitgo, Kiss,, Let’s go crazy, Scandalous, Let’s Pretend We’re Married, Sugar Walls. If I was Your Girlfriend Breakfast Can Wait,Manic Monday, Love Bizarre, Ice Cream Castles, The Morning Papers. Just As Long As We’re Together, The Rhythm of Your Heart, Somewhere Here On Earth, Love-Thy Will Be Done, Private Joy, Strange Relationship, Purple Rain.

Leave a Reply

