h1

NaPoWrimo Prompt for April 10, 2017

April 9, 2017

DAY 10  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  Monday, April 10, 2017

 

“I discover myself on the verge of a usual mistake.”

Walt Whitman

 

Welcome to Day 10.  One third of NaPoWriMo is now done.  Hopefully you’re creating a new habit of writing each and every day, and challenging yourself  to write something you never would have thought of writing.  It’s a good thing to experiment, to diversify, to try new things.

DAY 10 Prompt

A few days ago the prompt from Brendan McBreen was to write a Bad poem.  Well now Brendan suggests the following for today’s prompt (and just let him try to deny it!):

Brendan writes:  Now take your bad poem, and shove it in a blender, rearrange the lines or fragments of lines and create a new poem. Try to add nothing and use all of the source poem if you can.

 

Latest Blog Post From Brendan with Prompt Poems he has written.

 

“Once, poets were magicians. Poets were strong, stronger than warriors or kings — stronger than old hapless gods. And they will be strong once again.”

Greg Bear

 

The Prompt for Day 8  as suggested by Brendan was to write a bad poem

Here’s what I wrote:

 

Intentionally Rotten

by  Christopher J. Jarmick

 

I suppose writing a bad poem

should be almost as difficult as

writing a good poem.

But then I look at the moon

through the rolling storm clouds

and realize it’s a matter of

sinking like a stone

a mediocre write

into a lumpy gravy

puddle of roadside kill

with cliché and dull metaphor.

You broke my heart.

Cake out in the rain

I loved and adored you

probably do it all over again

though in the end it wasn’t enough,

no happy ever after

no watching sunsets

or even bad T.V.

I fell so hard

I wrote dozens of

poor pitiful me poems

(and I’m old enough to know better)

and yet still can’t bring

myself to burn the damn things.

I don’t blame you

more than I blame myself,

but somewhere in the half and half

we didn’t see eye to eye.

I ask why…

Why?

So sure.

moon, June

bent spoon,

sad.

Bad

Fantastic!

Ah… screw it.

(and I don’t mean with a Philips).

 

Keep Writing!

635-03641773

Leave a Reply

