h1

NaPoWriMo Prompt for April 12, 2017

April 11, 2017

DAY 12  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  Wednesday, April 12, 2017

 

“With me poetry has not been a purpose, but a passion.”

Edgar Allan Poe

 

And here we are at Day 12 of NaPoWriMo.  One of my other passions is movies.

 

Prompt for Day 12-

 

Pick a favorite film director or film series and figure out a way to write about it that isn’t obvious or straightforward.

 

 

“Poetry is just the evidence of life. If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.”

Leonard Cohen

 

Prompt 10  suggested by Brendan McBreen was to take the Bad poem you wrote on Day 8 and

“shove it in a blender, rearrange the lines or fragments of lines and create a new poem. Try to add nothing and use all of the source poem if you can.”  Whew… quite the challenge.  I left several articles (as, a, the) out of the blender poem, but used the words without adding others.

 

Here’s my poem:

 

Ah.. Fantastic!

by  Christopher J. Jarmick

 

The moon sunk like a bad poem I loved.

I realize, watching good sunsets matter.

 

Storm clouds rolling  through my  writing                   .                                                                                                                should be rotten and cliche enough;

a dull puddle of bad metaphor on a

mediocre T.V. show.

 

Cake broke;

no matter.

 

A pitiful stone heart,

dozen of difficult almosts

write in the rain.

It probably wasn’t a half Phillips screw

on the roadside

in a half moon eye I didn’t see.

 

Hard heart lumps blame you for

these poems – all gravy in the end.

 

Through the ever after and I wasn’t happy.

Old poor me adored you.

Somewhere I look at the end,

Blame again wasn’t enough.

It’s a kill with my heart

I know.

(The damn burn in June,

all over the spoon bent as

the things we wrote,

I know.)

I don’t blame you even now.

Why?

Bad, I know,

and it’s all over

But still, I write it out

I probably don’t mean it intentionally.

 

I fell so. . .

 

Keep Writing!

 

Edgar edgar allan poe pixabay

Leave a Reply

