h1

NaPoWriMo Prompt for April 20, 2017

April 19, 2017

DAY 20  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  Thursday, April 20, 2017

 

“A poet’s work . . . to name the unnamable, to point at frauds, to take sides, start arguments, shape the world and stop it from going to sleep.”

Salman Rushdie

 

Welcome to Day 20.    There is work to be done.  Make it fun when you can.

 

Prompt 20

Today’s prompt was suggested by Brendan McBreen

Write a poem which includes at least six homonyms, words which are pronounced the same but spelled different. Use as many as you can.

 

“Whatever the imagination seizes as Beauty must be truth -whether it existed before or not”

John Keats

 

Prompt 18 was suggested by Brendan McBreen It suggested to Reinvent the wheel, write a poem that goes in a circle but takes you somewhere else. Begin and end the poem with the same line, however try to make it so the context of the poem changes the meaning of the first line by the time you get to the end.

Here’s what I wrote:

Not about a face in the mirror

By Christopher J. Jarmick

Twice, I have changed my reflection

‘the face and I’

What I see,

what you saw;

different.

 

No matter how close to the truth of me

I sometimes get,

it’s a reflection

of what I think;

ifferent

from what

you saw.

What I forget

you rememberm

what is faded and black and white

to you may still be vivid and in full color;

or maybe,

this too,

all a tale I weave

for an audience of one;

a concocted tale of partial truths,

a character sketch,

an implanted memory,

a cover-up

of some ugliness,

best to deny.

 

Twice, I have changed my reflection.

 

KeepWriting!

 

Salmon Rushdie

Salman Rushdie 2014 cc wiki

 

 

Leave a Reply

