h1

NaPoWriMo Prompt for April 22, 2017

April 21, 2017

DAY 22  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  Saturday, April 22, 2017

 

“The poetry of the earth is never dead.”

John Keats

 

It’s  Earth Day!   So we have an appropriate prompt suggested by Brendan McBreen today.

 

But first, a reminder for those in the Western Washington area.

 

Award-winning writer-poet-publisher Paul Hunter will be visiting BookTree (bookstore in Kirkland) with his brand new book on April 22nd at 4 p.m.!  Hunter Facebook Event Page  

 

“If we surrendered

to earth’s intelligence

we could rise up rooted, like trees.”

Rainer Maria Rilke

 

Day 22nd Prompt from Brendan McBreen

Find twelve words related to geology, now use them in a love poem (or anti-love poem).

 

“I lean to you, numb as a fossil. Tell me I’m here.”

Sylvia Plath

Prompt 20 suggested by Brendan suggested using at least six homonyms in a poem.

Here is what I wrote:

 

Lying down

By Christopher J. Jarmick

 

Left out on the foot of the bed

was the long letter where I learned

about the mean lie you didn’t mean

for me to see.  I saw the name Chris,

not realizing it was addressed to another

with the same name until I began reading.

This was more than I could live with-

another wound that would not heal.

 

I lie on the couch longing to meet someone

who won’t live a lie, appreciates learned left-brain

thinking romantics, who likes walking barefoot

in the rain, (on the sand by the sea perhaps)

going with me to live poetry readings.

 

 

Keep Writing!

 

Rainer Maria Rilke

rainer maria Rilke 1900 pd

 

Leave a Reply

