h1

NaPoWriMo Prompt for April 26,2017

April 25, 2017

DAY 26  – NaPoWriMo Prompt for  Wednesday, April 26, 2017

 

“Poets are shameless with their experiences: they exploit them.”

Friedrich Nietzsche

 

Welcome to Day 26 of our poem-a-day marathon in celebration of National Poetry Month.

Prompt for Day 26:   Write a couple of short poems embracing an absurd idea as a reality which perhaps comments on popular culture, or language or history or if you must politics.

 

“Poetry puts starch in your backbone so you can stand, so you can compose your life.”

Maya Angelou

 

The Prompt for Day 24  involved writing a poem about letters in the alphabet.

Here’s what I wrote:

 

Misprint

By Christopher J. Jarmick

 

A book toppled off the shelf.

No one was near it.

I saw something moving on the floor.

It wasn’t a worm but could it be

a book fly?  A book ant?

As I picked up the book

I saw what looked like two eyelashes

moving on the floor

and bent down to get a closer look.

Two letters!

 

I was alone in the bookstore;

was I dreaming?

I looked away

then back at the

letters

making their way toward a space

underneath the bookshelf.

The letter ‘q’, and the letter ‘f’

moving together

almost as one.

‘Q’ and ‘F’?

What was this?

Were they escaping

from the book?

Has this sort of thing

happened before?

Did it happen often?

 

Perhaps the letters

were in love.

Perhaps love affairs between certain letters

was not permitted.

‘Q’’s are usually with ‘u’’s

they go together,

are almost always together.

But a ‘Q’ and a ‘F’?

This was an act of subversion.

 

I could understand

a  ‘Q’ and ‘X’…  they both

seem somewhat

anti-social… neither very

good team-players,

but certainly unique,

distinct.

A ‘q’ and  ‘g’ I could

see as a case

of opposites attracting;

But a ‘q’ and  ‘f’?

For several days,

I was in a daze

regarding the remarkable

thing I witnessed.

I forgot to keep track of the

book that the letters

escaped from.

And I realized

some day

a customer may come in

and talk about a misprint

they found

And I might be tempted

to inquire if it involved a missing ‘q’

And ‘f’.

I might be tempted to relate

my story

knowing it might  make me

sound unhinged.

Letters escaping from a book?

Letters magically alive?

Was I promoting something akin

to a conspiracy?

Did I really think there was

an alternate (or parallel) universe,

where the letters themselves

rise up against the traditions

and rules of grammar

and letter pairing?

And would that make the

father and mother of

this revolution

the ‘q’ and ‘f’

I observed

running off

across the bookstore

floor?

Best to keep

uiet  orever.

 
Keep Writing!

Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou 1993 pd wiki

Leave a Reply

